Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

400 sbc into an 85 vette??

I

Igor

Hello everyone.

So I am going to buy a vette my friend is selling. I am not new to sbcs but i am new to TPI AND Y body.

Here is what the car has (1985 Z51 automatic):

a zz3 crate motor w/a nasty knock in it.
Accel lingenfelter intake, I assume a super ram (its the big flat looking intake on the top, like a box)
headman or hooker LT headers, dual 2.5" exhaust with off road x pipe and magnaflows
new built 700r4 with a 2400 stall converter
3.08 rear diff, i assume the weak dana 33 or whatever it is
I think a 52mm TB and 24lb injectors
a mail order chip with lifetime free updates (1985 style)

I had a few rides in the car just prior to the knock. Ran strong and tranny shifted real well.

What I Have:

.040 400 with 2 valve relief flat tops, forged, -5.4cc, molly rings
5.7 rods with arp hardware, cleranced for cam
stock crank cut .010/.010
arp main studs, arp head studs, full machine work inc. balancing
short block is done so i do not want to change it. I want to do this on a budget.

I need a set of 70cc aluminum heads, that should put me in the 10.5-10.6:1 CR depending on exact deck height of my 400. I am hoping this would work with TPI. If I went with 67cc around 11:0-11:1 CR which might be too much. What is a good CR to run with pump gas TPI motors?
I'd look at some eddy RPM heads (cheap, on budget) or maybe something else for a similar price, but like i said budget is key.