Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Help! 81 Won't Start

Neck

Corvette
1981 Burgundy Coupe
Hello,

I'm a first time owner of a 1981 corvette with an automatic transmission. I shorted/ grounded the starter/ solenoid while changing the spark plugs which caused the car to have absolutely nothing when I turned the key. I'm not a mechanic but have always tried fixing things myself before paying someone else. I've been troubleshooting this voltage/ wiring issue on my small amount of spare time for the past 4-6 weeks. It appears that everything is original on the car. Not to sound like I'm throwing parts at the issue BUT I decided to replaced the starter, solenoid, ignition switch, dimmer switch, fuse links, battery, alternator, alarm relay and the negative cable from the battery to the frame (which brought the car back to life) along the way for piece of mind later. I did'n't replace the ground cable above the starter because it checked good. Ok, here's where I'm at: I don't have any voltage on the PURPLE wire entering the starter extension harness that feeds the solenoid. I think the issue is between what I think is the starter relay under the ashtray, the neutral safety switch or the relay under the arm rest?? All test are with the ignition in the ON position. With all items plugged in and in park I have 12+ volts on the PINK & SOLID PURPLE wires on the NSS. In reverse I have 12v on the GREEN. I didn't have anything on the PURPLE/ WHITE wire but when I pressed on it the relay under the arm rest clicks. Also, when I turn the key on, the relay in the arm rest clicks? I've traced the wires between the items and they appear to be fine? I need help with testing the NSS and what I should be seeing on the wires? When I unplug the Alarm relay, I don't have any voltage on the pins feeding it? When I unplug what I think is the starter relay, I have 12V on one of the pins feeding it? Am I on the right track? Any help appreciated.