Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Authentic Black Widow?

• Thread starter Thread starter YESZREE
  • Start date Start date
I thought the letters on the Black Widow Motors were painted red.

I'm a newbie, but...

Posted in this forum is a history of the Black Widow. The picture says that the letters are indeed red, and also that none were made in '91, with the exception of those made for race teams. Also, it says that only 8 or 9 of them were ever made for the public. 8 or 9? That's rarer than the L88/L89 engines. This would make me believe that the price would be far above the 17k that he's asking. So, I'm throwing the Shenanigans flag on this 'Black Widow'.

Re: I'm a newbie, but...

MidKnight said:
Posted in this forum is a history of the Black Widow. The picture says that the letters are indeed red, and also that none were made in '91, with the exception of those made for race teams. Also, it says that only 8 or 9 of them were ever made for the public. 8 or 9? That's rarer than the L88/L89 engines. This would make me believe that the price would be far above the 17k that he's asking. So, I'm throwing the Shenanigans flag on this 'Black Widow'.

An accusation of Shenanigans has been made - now, the owner of the ZR-1 must respond to this accusation, and if we don't like his response, then we get to beat him down with broomsticks. Those are the rules!!:J :Silly :booty

His reply...

I emailed the owner to get some clarification, this was his reply...

Dear Adam,

Thank you for your commentary. You are correct that a very small number of 475 hp Black Widow engines were made by Doug Rippie Motorsports. I failed to add the word "Type" to my description as it should have read 500 hp DRM Black Widow Type engine as it was sold to me by Rippie's shop as a 500 hp "Black" engine. They asked me what color paint for the lettering and I asked for Quasar Blue to match the car.