Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Brake pedal position...?

Corvette
1996 LT4 Collector Edition
Hi all. I'm new to the world of Corvettes, and have a question about the brake pedal position in my LT4/6 speed equiped car. The brake pedal is much higher (further away from the floor) than the clutch pedal, and I was wondering if this is normal for this car? If not normal, then can it be adjusted?

I've had the car on the track a couple of times now, and I cannot get the heel/toe action down because the pedal is so high! Even under hard braking, the brake pedal is still too high above the gas pedal. I'd like to have it so that when I'm braking hard, the brake pedal is just slightly higher than the gas.

I took a look under the dash with the panel removed, and can't see an adjustment point. Could something be installed incorrectly? I don't have any documentation from the previous owners, so I don't know what's been done to the car.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Barry

Wind whistles down an empty street...

OK, if I post a pic of the beast on the track, will someone at least say hello? :s

hello!

At first you talk about the brake Vs. clutch pedal, then later brake Vs. gas pedal. There is a drastic difference between the brake and gas pedal. not too much between the brake and clutch though. can you post a pic of the difference between those?

Vettelt193,

Thanks for posting, I thought maybe my browser was broken!

Sorry if I was confusing in my original post. The reference to the clutch pedal was just to point out that visually, the brake pedal is much further from the floorboard than the clutch. I'll get a pic and post it tonight.