Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Break In Oil..................Needed Or Not Needed?

I have been building engines for 50+ years and I have never used any of these new "break in" oils. If the engine has a flat tappet cam I spray the lobes with graphite spray, smear #2 moly grease on them, then use an ordinary 10W30 oil (synthetic or non-synthetic) and change it at 5000 miles. If the engine has a roller cam I just use an ordinary 10W30 oil (synthetic or non-synthetic) and change it at 5000 miles. I have never had a premature camshaft failure in these past 50 years so I question the need for break in oils for street engines anyway. Camshaft manufacturers will recommend using the outer valve springs ONLY during the initial break in to minimize the possibility of camshaft lobe damage and that's what I do. For obvious reasons break in oils contain a higher concentration of ZDDP for breaking in flat tappet camshafts but you can buy small containers of ZDDP over the internet.

So my question is...........are break in oils really needed for breaking in street engines?

Acid Etched Camshaft Lobes And Initial Timing