Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

C6 vs 911

jimxo

Corvette
Sold my 1989 snif-snif
I have never driven a 911 (only as a passenger 2002) but I know they are fun fun fun? I hope the C6 will be a fun car to drive as is the 911. The big factor for me will be the interior fit and finish.

I drove a 911 once about 12 years ago. At that point I had been driving vettes for about 15 years. I found it cramped and I was told that one must develop driving skills for the rear engined car. Back then it definately did not have the "Grunt Factor" of the Corvette. The fact that Porsche has been able to accomplish so much (win races consistantly) with the engine behind the rear axle amazes me. Certainly it is a car to be respected.

Fun Factor? Guess this is somewhat subjective and you should not depend on someone else telling you what the fun factor is for a car (even car rags) - you must rate it yourself. Remember, you must live with this car day in and day out and don't forget the repair and maintainence fun factor. I'm told a bill for the 50k sched maint for a Porsche can really get your heart racing.

All this in my opinion only - decide by the seat of your pants and your pocketbook.

LongTimer said:
I'm told a bill for the 50k sched maint for a Porsche can really get your heart racing.

I have read that Ferrari's are also extremely expensive to maintain. Yet another reason to buy a Corvette. Good 'ole American Muscle :pat.

LongTimer said:
I drove a 911 once about 12 years ago. At that point I had been driving vettes for about 15 years. I found it cramped and I was told that one must develop driving skills for the rear engined car. Back then it definately did not have the "Grunt Factor" of the Corvette. The fact that Porsche has been able to accomplish so much (win races consistantly) with the engine behind the rear axle amazes me. Certainly it is a car to be respected.