Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Car keeps running...

Red73BB

Corvette
1969 dark red convert
I purchased a 1969 Corvette from a out of state dealer in June. It has a 350 that has been modified for high performance. I dealer would not get me the past owners name and so I do not have contact to discuss the engine mod’s. It does run very well :)
My problem is, after a drive the engine sometimes, not always, it will try to keep running after I turn the car off. I Run 93 octane, but I have heard that if you run too low octane cars will do this. I’m not a mechanic, so any help here is appreciated.

Thanks, Gary

I would think maybe the timing is off. And maybe try different fuel. But the other much smarter than me guys will chime in :)

Thanks!

I can try a different gas station, but my thinking is (probaby wrong) that 93 octane should be about the same form a nationwide dealer.
Check the timing, now that is sometime that wouldn't cost much and should be easy to do.

Gary

That. And plugs could be the wrong heat range. And some carbs have whats called a run on valve. I think thats what its called. To shut off the fuel. But it could be broke. I have heard carbon build-up can cause it as well.. But like i said. The smart guys will be on later im sure. And good luck to ya. Hope you can fix it easily.

Oh and on the gas station topic. I am a truck driver. And have some friends that drive tankers. There are a few stations that want 87 put into the 93 tanks. So you never know i guess. Seems hit or miss if or when the gas stations actually get checked up on to make sure they are legit.

Carbon build up,,,sounds like I need to put the pedal to the metal

Carbon build up,,,sounds like I need to put the pedal to the metal

Get a bottle of seafoam.. Pour some down the carb and let it sit for a few minutes. Put the rest in the tank. Then put the pedal to the metal :beer