Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

CB radios?

Corvette
'13 427 60th vert - '21 Silver Flare Coupe - CTS V Wagon(4-door Vette)
Anybody still use CB radios other than truckers (assuming they still do)?

I found a Cobra 40-channel walkie-talkie in my closet recently that appears to still work except that I can't hear anyone to talk to.

I'm a Ham operator and shortwave listener which means I notice antennas.. I don't see as many antennas on interstate rigs as compared to the past when almost truck had one. Perhaps the cell phone's ability to "phone home" so easily has replaced CBs??

Stud Muffin, do you have your ears on?

Smart phones surely ruined the CB industry.

When I was at Bowling Green last week, I thought I heard a few transmissions on channel 19. I tried to break in but did not get an answer from any of them. Thought they were truckers on I-65 but maybe not.

I guess I have one more piece of history to donate to a museum at some point in the future.

Anybody still use CB radios other than truckers (assuming they still do)?

I found a Cobra 40-channel walkie-talkie in my closet recently that appears to still work except that I can't hear anyone to talk to.

Got one pretty similar to what you're describing; haven't turned it on in years... I only have the thing because my Dad insisted I have it for traveling long distances in the days before cell phones...

I can try turning mine on here in Texas and see if I can hear you talking from Oklahoma... :blah

Or maybe we can get a Corvette Convoy going...? :Steer

Or maybe we can get a Corvette Convoy going...? :Steer

We could try that - no wait, I already did. I bought the CB radio for the 2009 Caravan but I didn't buy the headphones for it. My wife and I found out that a 2-way radio without headphones was pretty much useless in a Corvette convertible. We were always asks people to "come back!"

Probably why it was put in the box after the 2009 Caravan and forgotten about until now. ;)