Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

conversion

A

akvette

Been procrastinating all winter. Time for the conversion from computer controlled. I have purchased the edelbrock performer intake manifold #2101 and the edelbrock carb #1406. I need to know if this distributor will work, Mallory HEI with coil # maa-8548201c (summit number). If this isn't the wisest choice for a distributor, I would welcome all recommendations. Thanks in advance.

1981 4speed
Akvette

Excellent. Don't know about the Mallory, but I'll be keeping an eye on this thread to see how things work out.

I have no first hand knowledge of the Mallory distributor. I do however know several racers that swear Mallory is top shelf and their success is proof enough for me. Good luck with your conversion I'm certain that you will be pleased with the outcome.

AKVette,

Yes! This Mallory distributor is comparable to the Accel distributor that I installed in my L81. Mechanical advance weights and vaccum advance (possibly up to 20 deg) should work fine. I wonder if it also comes with an advance spring set? If not, then you may have to purchase one at any auto parts store (I know that AutoZone carries it).

The mechanical springs that provide the best performance gives you full mechanical advance at around 3,000 - 3,200 rpm. Combining springs can be done to achieve this. This will be approximately 14 -16 additional degrees to your basic advance. Before installing it, make sure that the engine's #1 piston is at top dead center (TDC). This should place the rotor cap about to align-up with the #1 (firing order) electrode on the rotor cap. For guidance, the vaccum advance pod should be pointing at the back of the A/C compressor.

When checking your basic and mechanical advance, make sure you plug the hose for this purpose from the carburator; otherwise is going to make setting your basic advance (the advance you're engine will have at idle) a nightmare.