Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Cracked rim

vett boy

Corvette
2008 vert 6M silver
Right rear tire kept loosing air so I felt it was time to remove the wheel and take it to the tire shop . I was cleaning the inside of the tire /wheel when i noticed soap bubbles near the bead and rim .Looking closer the rim was cracked .This has to be a factory defect as the car has never been abused nor have I hit anything . Note the rim is the base (cheap) painted rims .I know the fix but I'm curious as if this is common ???

Steve, I never had any issues with either of our 2007's.

Steve, I never had any issues with either of our 2007's.
I don't now how but it does run across my mind that in 08 GM wasn't paying their vendors that well .The wheel looked in perfect shape other than the crack and I haven't driven more than 200 miles this year .I'm a certified welder but no experience on aluminum so I found a guy that repairs wheels for a living .

So in the mean time I'm driving a vet with missing doors and only three wheels ;)

In my Volvo XC70, I swerved to avoid a wreck and hit a bridge curb at interstate speed. Needless to say I was out 2 rims.
Volvo wanted over $300 each for the rims. I found them online for $150 delivered. As they had the cast Volvo logos and part numbers; they were the real deal.

If you want to replace. do a search..
:)

What I learned :We could have welded the aluminum rim in our shop but I'm glad we left it to a pro .I took it to a shop in the city about an hour away that all they do is repair and salvage all rims .Took them 2 minutes to weld and 58 minutes to make the rim round and true .The guy was good and was a perfectionist so we shall hit the road tomorrow