Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Fiberglass spring

tomgok

Corvette
76 L-48,coupe
Anyone know if replacing stock C3 rear spring with a fiberglass spring will make the ride less harsh?

Anyone know if replacing stock C3 rear spring with a fiberglass spring will make the ride less harsh?

It depends on which spring rate you choose. And for a MUCH softer ride run 20 psi in your tires like I have been doing for the past 20 years. Because of product liability lawsuits G.M. was forced to recommend higher pressures than needed but the 20 psi recommended for the 1974 C3's is the ideal pressure. If 20 psi seems absurd to you I'll further explain why the later C3's recommended higher pressures:

Back in the days when we averaged 15,000 miles per year and our dealers changed our oil every 3000 miles our dealer checked our tire pressures every 3 months. Okay so far but when the oil change intervals got changed to 5000 miles about 5 months went by between tire checking which meant a slow leak could result in a dangerously low pressure. Then when the oil change intervals got changed to 7500 miles about 7 months went by between tire checking so a slow leak could result in an almost FLAT tire by the time our dealer checked the pressures. Then came the 10,000 mile and 12,500 mile oil changes; meaning 10-11 months went by. And with our present 15,000 mile oil change intervals a whole YEAR can go by between tire checking. See the problem extended oil changes caused over the years? But for those of us who check our pressures every month or so 20 psi is the perfect pressure to run to get the maximum tread life out of our tires. My front tires now have 50,000 miles on them and 1/3rd of the tread is still left. And with 20 psi the ride is as soft as a full-sized passenger car that uses the same tires but weigh 1000+ more pounds.