Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

First time drive in a Corvette

Toms007

Corvette
2007 Atomic Orange Coupe
A little background information. I am a high school teacher near the end of my career and my principal for the last 9 years is a great guy a couple years older than I. He was brand new to the district (about a month on the job) when I bought my 94 in September 2004. He took a shine to that car, but would never take a ride in it.

He's not a big, overweight guy, but a track/cross country coach that doesn't have the best knees anymore. His wife is also a high school teacher here. Last fall while they were having their Equinox serviced, "Mr. O" saw a Corvette sitting on the showroom floor, and decided this was his opportunity to sit in one. From his and his wife's description it must have been quite comical. With his bad knees (he had just had knee surgery) he crawled into it somehow and when he tried to get out he got all tied up and ended up literally crawling out of it leaving everyone in the place rolling on the floor laughing.

In February Mr.O announced his retirement and inevitable move. One day shortly after this I was in his office wearing one of my Corvette polo shirts and he said to me, "Would you give me a ride in your Corvette before I leave?" I told him "No, I won't give you a ride, but I'll let you drive it." He responded with "You'd let me drive your Corvette?" "Sure, why wouldn't I?"

Well, the school year is winding down, we have one more day. Today we had a little party for him and gave him some gifts. when they were done, I got up and told them the request and said today is the day Mr.O gets to go for a drive. I also told him That I parked it in the handicap parking place for him. He laughed and told everyone the story of his experience.