Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Gears and Transverse Leaf Springs

93Rubie

Corvette
1993 Ruby Red 40th Anniversary Coupe
So I am thinking about putting 4.10's in my Vette, but everything I read says I need a transverse leaf spring compressor to even remove the rear diff. cover. Anyone ever used one or know where I can get one, I found some online but they are like 600-900 dollars. WOW!!! Heck, I couldn't even pull the whole center without this thing. Anyone know of how to get around this without the use of one??? That or I find a shop that can do it for me...I shudder as I write this...I'm a auto technician by trade, but I work on Fords, I cannot jusify buying a tool for 600 to use on my own car, once.

On another note even if I can get the center section out to put in the new ring and pinion, I dont know what I am getting into with the Dana 44 rear end. It seems similar to GM diffs, and the only thing I would need to do the job is a pinion depth gauge. Anyone know where I can find a detailed book/article on setting up Dana diffs.

If it got the tools and good info I can do the job. Problem is how much do I need to spend to get the tools and info versus letting (again I shudder) someone else do the job, for a price.

Any short cuts to circumvent this leaf spring compressor would be greatly appreciated as well...as long as they are remotely safe. We are dealing with a spring that can support over 1500lbs.

Man, it stinks trying to figure out GM stuff, I love my Corvette and Corvettes in general but man the speicalized tools kind of stink. :ugh

everything I read says I need a transverse leaf spring compressor to even remove the rear diff. cover.

A what :ugh
You put your floor jack under one the end of the spring , take the weight off and undo the bolt through spring to hub , and lower. Repeat other end.
Undo the 4 bolts holding the now uncompressed spring to batwing ; DONE.:thumb