Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Handheld tuners for C5 LS1

philbillyvette

Corvette
2002 White Coupe / 1994 Admiral Blue Coupe
Was wondering if the handheld tuners or something like the jet modules are worth the price? I've used chips before in some older speed density efi setups and they felt like they made a difference in the butt dyno. I've never tried a handheld tuner before on any newer stuff. Would like some input from folks that may have tried some of the ones out there. I definently would like my shifts in the auto to be more firm and alot of products claim to firm up the shifts.

Was wondering if the handheld tuners or something like the jet modules are worth the price? I've used chips before in some older speed density efi setups and they felt like they made a difference in the butt dyno. I've never tried a handheld tuner before on any newer stuff. Would like some input from folks that may have tried some of the ones out there. I definently would like my shifts in the auto to be more firm and alot of products claim to firm up the shifts.
I have a Hypertech Power Programmer III tuner installed in my '98 A4 tranny coupe. It was given to me for free, but they can be purchased on ebay, or other corvette forums, etc. in the Part For Sale sections. HP runs about $350 give or take for a new one. Yes, you can definitely firm up the shift firmness big time if you want. There are actually about 3 different settings to pick from, depending your driving style. I tried each one, then decided on the 2nd to the most firm setting for my normal driving. The max setting is quite strong just for everyday driving around town. If you're a drag racer, go for it!! Also, with the HP tuner, I adjusted my cooling fans to come on earlier, at 209deg, instead of 225. You can start them even soon if you wish, but I don't want mine running all the time.