Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Harmonic Balancer Replacement

mjsmm

Corvette
99 Mag. Red Conv.
I'm getting ready to replace my balancer and, while going through the service manual, it says to remove the starter (?). Can anyone tell me why the hell I have to remove the starter in the rear of the motor to change the balancer? I haven't crawled under the car to see what possible reason there might be for that, but I was just curious if anyone had already done this without removing the starter. I figure the less parts I have to remove, the less chance I have of screwing something up!

Thanks in advance for any and all replies.

I'm hoping that GMJunkie, or one of our other experts check in here. I'm like you, removing the starter doesn't make a lot of sense. But I'm no professional mechanic.

I'm getting ready to replace my balancer and, while going through the service manual, it says to remove the starter (?). Can anyone tell me why the hell I have to remove the starter in the rear of the motor to change the balancer? I haven't crawled under the car to see what possible reason there might be for that, but I was just curious if anyone had already done this without removing the starter. I figure the less parts I have to remove, the less chance I have of screwing something up!

Thanks in advance for any and all replies.

Not sure, but my guess is to access the ring gear to be able to lock the engine to torque the retaining hardware.

Not sure, but my guess is to access the ring gear to be able to lock the engine to torque the retaining hardware.

Yep, you're right. I just reread a section I skimmed over the first time. I'm supposed to get a flywheel holding tool to hold the engine in place when I do the final installation torqued at 250 lb-ft. Need to double check to see if my torque wrench goes that high!

You may want to watch the video(s) I posted on harmonic balancer r&r (click below).