Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

How long can I keep a C6?

Only time will tell!
It's like asking how long are you going to live - my MetLife rep would like to talk to you about that.

I'm working on 13 years on my 92 C4. My grandkids may get is some day. Then again, they may not.

I think there is more to this than meets the eye, first of all any of the worn out parts on older vettes are still made or can be made.

I think the biggest problem is going to be all the circuit boards and electronics that are going to start failing, just look at computers.

As far as the mechanicals goes, the parts should last longer than all the other years, after all the materials should be of higher qualityand the oils and tollerances should make things last longer.

But I work in the tech (computer industry) and we see boards malfuction all the time, one main reason is heat, (there's no heat in the corvette is there?;LOL)

Mart

I don't care what vehicle it is, be it a car, truck, boat, train, plane, anything; if you don't take care of it and perform the required routine maintenance, as well as taking care of the appearance, it won't last long.

There's more to "Pride of Ownership" than just owning the vehicle. One must be either capable of performing the maintenance duties themselves, or have the necessary monies available to have someone else do it for them. ;)

Your absolutly right Ken, But it's gonna be really hard to maintain an electronics board. Just think of the dust and crud that builds up on the back of the radio and other controls in the dash.

And that dust is what blocks the parts from cooling properly, and add a little moisture (humidity) to the dust and ZAP there goes a board.

:beer
Mart

Mart said:
Your absolutly right Ken, But it's gonna be really hard to maintain an electronics board. Just think of the dust and crud that builds up on the back of the radio and other controls in the dash.