Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Question: How to adjust cold enrichment on early FI

PeterR

Corvette
'54, '57 fuelie, '91 Z07
First of all I am new to Rochester mechanical fuel injection, but I'm trying to learn. I have an early "360" model FI unit on my '57. I just got the car two weeks ago and it was running very rich when it came off the transport trailer. Subsequently, I found the spark plugs to be totally black with carbon (I replaced them). I checked all the spark plug wires and they were fine. I would like to ensure that cold enrichment is set properly (the black plastic cover was loose so the setting is uncertain). The black plastic cover has multiple rich-lean index marks on it, but I see no obvious corresponding index mark on the cold enrichment housing. I see a couple of scratches on the flat horizontal surface, but nothing that looks like an intentional index mark. And there are no marks on the vertical side of the housing. So how does one set the cold enrichment if there is no index mark on the housing? If there is supposed to be an index mark on the housing, is it on the side or top surface? If you're looking at the housing from the left fender, at what position on the clock should I find the index mark (with 6 o'clock being closest to the left fender)?

Thanks,

PeterR

Hi Peter,

Welcome to the CAC.

It's been a long time since I played with one of these. I suggest a very good book that covers all of the FI units up to 1962 by model and covers the cold enrichment system in detail. It is the "Corvette V8 Complete Owners Handbook" published by Floyd Clymer It's long out of print but they show up on Ebay and Amazon occasionally.

I'll read through mine today and see if I can come up with some answers to your questions.

Tom

That was fast. I found it.