Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Need some help

D

davidt

Hey everybody! I'm new at the ZR-1 game and have some questions. I'd appreciate anyone's input. I looking at a '90 ZR-1 that is in very good shape, but has a lot of miles (115,100 to be exact) on it. I drove it the other day and the car is tight. It handles great and is verrry fast! I can now see why all you ZR-1 guys (and gals) are so crazy about your cars. It is a blast to drive!

The main question I have is about the reliability of the LT-5 engine, especially with this many miles. I've never read anything on high-mileage ZR-1s, mainly because most of 'em seem to have less than 40K miles on them.

Have any of you had any trouble with your cars? What do you think of one with this many miles? I have already checked the title and everything is fine. I haven't found anything wrong with the car yet, but I'm still a little concerned about the miles on the car. I plan to have it inspected by a qualified Corvette technician, but I would appreciate any information ya'll could provide.

Thank You

P.S. Answer quickly, please!

David,

First off, welcome to the Corvette Action Center.

I know a few ZR-1 owners that have gone past 115K miles on their ZR-1s without any problems. The LT5 engine is a very strong and reliable engine.

Some things that you may notice about the LT5 engine:

1. Cam Chain Tensioner Rattle (CCT rattle). This is common on all ZR-1s and probably less so on some of the second generation LT5s. ('93-'95 with 405hp). It's also normal. The chain will rattle for approximately 5-10 seconds upon startup as engine oil pressure is rising. It's hard to explain without a diagram but the way that the CCT is designed, it lacks a small reservoir to hold oil. It sounds crazy, but you would understand it better if you saw it. Supposedly, there is a CCT update kit which is designed with a small reservoir built in. Some say it works, some say it doesn't. The jury is out.