Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

New member/new C3 owner

bjax

Corvette
1978 Frost Beige (all original, but not for long)
Hello fellow C3ers, I'm the new kid on the block and wanted to introduce myself. After a VERY long wait, a 20 year career in the Army, helping to raise a family, and starting a second career I finally got to the point I could buy a Vette....just like the ones I used to inspect coming off the truck, clean/detail for the showroom where I worked as a kid at the local Chevy dealer way back in the 70s. Just purchased an unmolested 78 base L48...bone stock, two owner with 80K miles. It's had one respray but other than that, it's a true survivor. It has several little things that need attention, so I'm pouring through the forums to find tips and suggestions on troubleshooting and repairs. Look forward to getting to know all of you!! My son owns a powder coating and hydro dipping business so I'll educate myself on the "supporting vendor" and "advertising" sections of the site and maybe can bring some member support based on the rules etc...

Your story sounds similar. Not that I had a 20 year military (only 6 years) career, but that I have recently re-connected with the C3 corvettes and just joined this forum today. I think the C3 is the classic American sports car. My friend and I each purchased a 1978 "silver anniversary" edition. I say "silver anniversary" because I am not so sure that after the hack jobs that were done on each of them if they would even qualify as a silver anniversary edition.

In any event, we did not buy them to restore for show. We bought them to restore for driving and enjoying the classic look of an era, that in my view, can never be replicated. We are running into some challenges, but with forums like this, we have been able to overcome most without incurring huge expenses.