Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Newbie with a story....

indycallaway

Corvette
87 TT Black/Tan (#23)
Newbie here, hello all.... I have a great story about my new to me car. My father bought a 1987 Callaway TT new (#23). He then lovingly owned it until 1997, and then sold it to his best friend. I am 28 years old now so I grew up with that car. I was in my first year at Purdue when he sold it and he never let me drive it..... ever. He even took the keys with him when he went out of town
smash.gif
But now I understand why
smile5.gif
.....Well long story short my Father passed away 3 years ago, and I never got to drive that car. I got a phone call from his best friend 2 weeks ago that he wanted me to buy the car back from him, he thought I should have it. Well after we agreed on a price I got the car back. It needs a few things to make it right again. The clearcoat is chipping off in chunks
smash.gif
And the 4+3 needs a little work. Car has roughly 54000 miles. Black/tan coupe. The best part about it is all the great memories I had in that car in the passanger seat, I must say, the view is much better from the drivers seat, and the memories live on! Pictures to be posted later! Also, what are some good mods to make.... I have read on here about the big wonderbar...what is that? Also anything I should do this winter to make sure it is ready to go (been stored for 2 years) Changed all the fluids, drained the turbos, and new brakes...what else? Thanks in advance!

RJ

Welcome to the Callaway Forum at the :CAC

What a great story - I bet is was bittersweet, driving the car for the first time.

A Big WonderBar is a bigger air inlet from the airbox, feeding to the turbos - It makes a HUGE difference for gaining power :cool

I am sure the other folks here will have more tips, as most seem to drive their cars more than I do - Again, welcome :cool :beer