Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Performance Resource chip

slapshot

Corvette
1991 coupe, FX3, 6 spd, red/black
Is anyone familair wit the Performance Resource chips for the L98 C4's??? When I bought my car. the owner had one which wasn't installed. I wanted to get some info and specs on it BEFORE I installed it. I have already emailed Performance Resource directly, but the reply was useless....."it's deisgned to give significant performance increase and run cooler..." Thanks for the news flash, like I couldn't figure that out on my own.

Any feedback on them is appreciated

I am a newbie in understanding engine performance, have been reading quite a bit lately. I am not here to preach from someone else's literature. But so far I understand the following, so please bear with me:

1. Improved air flow efficiency through an engine increases Volumetric Efficiency (VE) of the engine.

2. Improvement of VE results with a corresponding enhancement of torque. There is an almost one-to-one correlation between VE & torque at different engine RPMs.

3. There are conventional mods that one can do to improve VE in an atmospherically aspirated engine; air intake path mods, intake plenum mods, header mods, exhaust mods, camshaft mods, etc etc etc. However you need to select first what RPM range you want the torque to be improved; low-to-mid rpm range / mid rpm range / mid-to-high rpm range? I am guessing you could also do mods to cover a wider range of RPMs but that may get things more complicated & expensive.

4. To take true benefit from VE improvement 2 things need to be adjusted: (a) fuel flow, and (b) ignition advance. The chip modification is required to adjust these 2 parameters.

5. Do not install a chip without knowing what exactly it will do.