Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Plenum Actuators

Z

ZR100060

I'm brand new to my 91zr1, I bought it about a month ago. A week ago I drove the car in "Full Power" and the secondaries would not "come in". I took the car to have all fluids changed and the radiator flushed and a new thermostat installed. I asked the service people about the secondaries/actuators. After three days they advised me the actuators had been put in "upside down", and they could fix it for $500.00. They also told me a lot of things they should do to the car at a cost of over $7000.00, and none of the required work was covered under the warranty I purchased at the same dealership 1 month ago. I said before I was new to the ZR1, but I'm certainly not new to unique cars. I have built 13 street rods, had two fast Porsches, 1 early Corvette and now have a 550 horsepower Pantera in the body/paint shop.
I was shocked!! They wanted $5884.00 for front and rear shocks and a ride control switch.
Is this a normal occurrence or was I wearing my "Tell me anything, I'm Stupid" t shirt.
If any one of you were to drive my car you might comment on the front shocks being a little soft-nothing else.
So if you try Tom Bell Chevrolet in Redlands, CA bring your $$$$$ and a loan application.

WOW!

I can't speak for everyone, but I'd say you had that shirt on.

A year ago, I had a high idle problem, and the dealership (who never sold ZR1's), got some software for a laptop with which they diagnosed the car while driving it. Result-Change the entire ECU to a newer version, cost$ 189. I had already replaced the PROM myself, purchasing it at another dealership for $47.