Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Question for Hib

Jeb

Corvette
1987 Convertable
Hib - Do you have any experience using Lucas Transmission Fix with an automatic in a 87 C4? (Actually, the question is for everyone, not just Hib so don't get the redass because I used his name.)

Mine is just starting to slip (just a tad when on the cusp of going into overdrive) and the shifts are not as smooth as they used to be. Now, it actually "clicks" (not a Bang - just a click that you can feel slightly) into the next gear up or down (sometimes). It's a daily driver and I don't race it but I don't baby it either. Of course, I always obey the local traffic laws. :L

Would it hurt to try the stuff? I don't want to kill the transmission but if I can avoid an overhaul for a bit, I'd like to do so.

Lucas Transmission Fix : Lucas Oil

I have no experience with Lucas "Transmission Fix" but I can tell you, if the transmission is slipping, there is no pour-in additive which can repair that.

I agree with Hib, mostly of the time, once it starts to slip, it is done. Although, I have seen flushing the transmission help. I have also saw pouring in some limited slip additive help. Ford Crown Victorias for a while had some trans. slip issues. Pouring in some limited slip seemed to correct the slip, at least for a while.

You should plan on having it overhauled, then pour in some of your favorite (fix in a bottle stuff) just for grins and giggles. What is the worst that could happen, it makes it worse and you needed a overhaul anyway.

If the trans fix works as well as the power steering additive then it should help at least for awhile.
Very often slippage is due to seals going bad/tearing, but sometimes it can be seals getting hard.If they aren't torn it might help.

Glenn
:w