Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Help! Rear brakes sticking

OK, I disconnected the rear line at the T, before the rubber hoses and there is some fluid flow. Oddly enough, there is suddenly fluid at the calipers too!! I think they are still dragginf some,
Don't surprise me in the least,Thats why I agreed with G Winter,just one of the classic symptoms of brake hoses that the inner lining is collapsing!~!!!Very 1st thing I check when brakes are dragging on anything,2nd is the wheel bearings..if the rotors are not running at 90* the pistons in the calipers can get wedged in the bores and not retract,especially if the bearings have run loose for a while and the pads get worn at a funky angle!~!!:thumb

PS. I'm not really a Vette Mechanic,But I do play one at "Junk My Ride" and I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on occasion!~!!

:D

Last edited:
Update

Ok, a quick update. I have had my car torn down for the past month working on the suspension and while I was at it, I re-sealed the rear rotors, replaced the pads, turned the rotors and replaced the hoses. I have great flow now while bleeding the brakes. However, I drove the car to work this morning and it seems to be having the same issue, just not quite as bad. Is there a way to test the Master Cylinder for proper operations. Other than that, What else could it be? I am going to unplug and pull the ABS fuse to see if that makes it any better, my suspicion is that it wont.

One more input, I need an alignment pretty bad now after all of the maintenance that I performed on the suspension. Could it be that the misalignment is now causing this problem? I am taking it in today for an alignment, but just curious. I had several broken and misaligned parts on my car's suspension, now if I could ust get the brakes to work correctly i think that it would be a fun car to drive around!

Have you checked the rear bearings for free play ?

???

Mike

Bearing Play