Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

trying to get some horsepower.

vetteKID

Corvette
74 L-48 coupe & 85 454 coupe
ok.....its time for alittle winter money spending. I just sold my other classic car (mopar) and i decided throw half into the vette and half into another car. heres what i got planed..........internally stock L-48 (performer manifold) by the way.

-650cfm holley spread bore carb. (#8055)
-Comp cams 268H .454 lift.

what do you guys think?

the cam right? headers first?

I'm no expert on this by any stretch of the imagination bit I have read heads, cam and intake are the way to go on the L48. Heads first, I think primarily due to compression but also valves, then the other two, though I don't know in whay order.

Why the carb? Are you having problems with the Q'jet? There will be other opinions but from whay I have read, the Q'jet can hang in there if stroked by someone who knows what they are doing.

Having shared my limited knowledge, the experts will pipe in and I look forward to hearing what they have to say because I have an L48 as well.

Heads/Cam/headers/carb/ignition

In that order...

Aluminum heads ( pick your poison there .. the edlebrocks are good)

While your down that far.. do the cam & timing chain..seals etc.
( Have the radiator at least rodded out & new water pump/hoses)

Put it all back together... and feel the new power.

Add headers next... and if you feel the need. Carb!

Then cool Igniton...

Vig!~

vetteKID said:
ok.....its time for alittle winter money spending. I just sold my other classic car (mopar) and i decided throw half into the vette and half into another car. heres what i got planed..........internally stock L-48 (performer manifold) by the way.

-650cfm holley spread bore carb. (#8055)
-Comp cams 268H .454 lift.

what do you guys think?

the cam right? headers first?

Opinion time :)