Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Unexplained increase in MPG

Craig-o

Corvette
2001 Navy Blue Convert, 6-Speed
OK, so this isn't a problem, per se, but it does have me baffled. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

On my last tank of gas, doing the same commute I've been doing for the last 3 years with this car, I got an unexpected increase in overall mileage of nearly 10%, and on the first leg of my commute, a whopping 16% increase! I do mostly freeway driving, on rolling hills, with very little stop-and-go, and typically average about 26MPG. When my DIC (reset at fill-up) showed 30.1 MPG when I rolled into work that morning, I took notice, but thought it might be because I filled up close to the freeway. But this phenominal increase held out for the entire tank - average of 28.4 MPG a 9.2% increase.

I have a bone stock - with the exception of running non-run flats - Goodyear F1 GS D3's (with 10,000 miles on them), and new AC Delco Durastop brake pads - 2001 convertible with nearly 60,000 miles on it. The pads were a recent replacement, maybe 1000 miles ago. I always run 92 octane gas, generally purchased from an independent gas station near my home - this morning I filled up at ARCO - not known for high-quality... No recent oil changes, no increased tire pressure, no new air filter, no little tweaks.

Now I'm not complaining, but something like this is noticable. If it had gone the other way, I'd be looking at making some adjustments to the ignition, airflow or exhaust, but this just baffles me.

Any insights?

I don't even know if this would even make a difference but you are in the land of governmental control and exotic fuel mixes. Could they have changed your gasoline blend recently?

Don't they change from a "summer blend" to a "winter blend" around here? I thought they did something like that for emissions. It does seem a bit early for the switch, though.