Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Hypertech or jet chip

Racer86y

Corvette
84 2 tone silver
Which is the best?Hypertech or jet chip?I am going to put one of these in my 84 crossfire vette.Asking for opinions please.:W

Stand out in the street and set fire to your $$$:thumb . Will have same effect
Tricks computer into running richer and turns fans on earlier .Claims are greatly exaggerated;

I have an ADS chip and a 180 degree therostat in my 84 crossfire. It does run cooler so you will pick up a few extra HP with a cooler running engine. Have you heard about the "renegade intake manifold" for the crossfire engine? Made by "dynamic crossfire solutions" they claim 33 HP at the rear wheels = roughly 42hp at the engine. I ordered one and will be getting it shortly. It is a direct replacement of your original intake manifold and flows 20% more air. You should check out their website.:thumb

I have an ADS chip and a 180 degree therostat in my 84 crossfire. It does run cooler so you will pick up a few extra HP with a cooler running engine. Have you heard about the "renegade intake manifold" for the crossfire engine? Made by "dynamic crossfire solutions" they claim 33 HP at the rear wheels = roughly 42hp at the engine. I ordered one and will be getting it shortly. It is a direct replacement of your original intake manifold and flows 20% more air. You should check out their website.:thumb
So what to do?I put 89 aluminum 113 heads and 500 lift cam.Besides renegade intake?headers.:puke

Get a custom chip after your mods from PCMforless or similar tuner.
Much better and costs the same and also running cooler will also shorten the life span of your engine and lighten your wallet. By making the car run rich, you burn up cats and plugs, while wasting gas and get maybe 2-3 hp.