Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Anyone succeed rebuilding a steering box?

S

street carp

My 1969's steering is plain dangerous now with so much play and no more adjustment available on the steering box.

Since rebuilt boxes seem to be around $400 (and add to that shipping and shipping the core back), I am considering rebuiding my steering box with http://www.ecklers.com/product.asp?pf%5Fid=44234&dept%5Fid=1838.

How hard is the rebuild considering I have rebuilt calipers and an engine very successfully before, but not a steering box? I've also taken apart a transmission to replace synchros as well. I am no expert, but I have some ability.

It seems a good benefit of the kit is the worm and nut and sector is replaced, which the rebuilt boxes don't state are new on theirs. It all depends on how hard this is, i.e. any special tools needed/is anything pressed in?

Can you walk and chew Bubble gum at the same Time???

If So, Getter Done!!!!!!;LOL It's not hard!!:upthumbs

i've got an excellent tech paper on rebuilding steering boxes if you want it.
it's on my website tech articles page here:
http://69.253.166.197/page1/page65/page65.html

scroll down to the bottom and look for the file called: Steering Box Rebuild.pdf

i've got an excellent tech paper on rebuilding steering boxes if you want it.
it's on my website tech articles page here:
http://69.253.166.197/page1/page65/page65.html

scroll down to the bottom and look for the file called: Steering Box Rebuild.pdf

Thanks for your link and thanks for all that information. I've bookmarked it and will be going back there again for sure. I'll do the rebuild and post back here if I discover anything out of the ordinary that could help out anyone else in the future.

I rebuild these all the time for forum members on the various forums. I have a detailed post on another forum, if you look you'll find it.