Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

1990 corvette

V

vette 53

Hi, guys I am new to this,, I have a 1990 corvette,, was driving great till one day while I was driving it, started to cut out,, it took me a while to get to 10 klms a hour,,, keep cuuting out,,, but engine, keep running,, finally got it home, changed dist. and rotter,, they looked bad, changed spark plugs,, it startes runs rough,, but when I push the gas dies,,,any ideas,, just bought it in nov,, like I said I am new to this, and would appreicate any help...Thanks

Hi, guys I am new to this,, I have a 1990 corvette,, was driving great till one day while I was driving it, started to cut out,, it took me a while to get to 10 klms a hour,,, keep cuuting out,,, but engine, keep running,, finally got it home, changed dist. and rotter,, they looked bad, changed spark plugs,, it startes runs rough,, but when I push the gas dies,,,any ideas,, just bought it in nov,, like I said I am new to this, and would appreicate any help...Thanks
I'd check the fuel pressure,Kinda sounds like the fuel pump is going south!!:upthumbs

you can smell the fuel,,, just not taking the gas,,,,now it starts and dies,,,

First thing that comes to mind is the alternator, this is the weak link on this car and can cause all kinds of symptoms just like the one you describe. A failing alternator will not charge your battery properly, so what happens is that the alternator works overtime to charge the battery, accelerating the problem and making it burn out faster. This is why when I owned c4s I always changed out the alternator and the battery at the same time (if the battery was newer I would fully charge it).

Have you checked the fuel injectors? The resistance should be 16 ohms. The original fuel injectors (at least in my 1990) are gray. If they're original you can plan on changing them at some point regardless.

gook luck...
Scott

Is the service engine soon light on?