Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

1992 CD Player Malfunction

Newfydad

Corvette
1992 Black Rose LT1-ZF6
I've tried using the CD player in my '92 coupe a few dozen times. It usually just displays "ERR" and spits the CDs back out, which seems to indicate it cant read the CDs. One time it worked perfectly and sounded really good with several different CDs.
I did a search but all I could find was there were issues with CD players around that vintage. Does anyone know the causes, or more important, how to make 'em play? Linkage or a dusty laser, maybe? I'm a retired electronic tech so I'm not afraid to tear it apart....but it sure would be nice to have some hints instead of working blind. Thanks.

Rod

Does the CD player reject all CDs or just the ones that were burned in a computer? Both my 91 and 94 bose occassionally played the computer burned CDs but mostly the error message was displayed. Both always played the store purchased CDs. The technology is different in recording CDs for computers than it is for commercial ones. It is my understanding that the C4 bose CD player has a lot of trouble with the computer burned CDs. You might check out using the two types of CDs to confirm this, I did and it was true. If your player rejects the purchased CDs, your unit is malfunctioning and you should send it to Dr. Don for repair.
Barrett

Well my story is a little different, mine would not accept CDs at all. Sent it in to be repaired by Same Day Auto audio service. They upgraded the mechanism to read CDRs, I could have had a jack put in to plug an IPod or MP3 player in at the same time....but I didn't do it (don't ask me why, I should have).

Well my story is a little different, mine would not accept CDs at all. Sent it in to be repaired by Same Day Auto audio service. They upgraded the mechanism to read CDRs, I could have had a jack put in to plug an IPod or MP3 player in at the same time....but I didn't do it (don't ask me why, I should have).