Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

3.70 posi

J

Jim F. Garrett

Just acquired a red conv. '65. Have considerable amount of
receipts, etc. One of these shows a "remove/replace the
3.70 rear end". I'm new to this but from a cursory look at some
of the literature, it looks as though this ratio was only available
with the close ratio 4 spd (which this car does not have)...
apprec confirmation/clarification re this.
Thanks, Jim

3.70s

Welcome to the CAC Jim.

I see a code AO 3.70 positraction listed for 4 speed (327). This would appear to be any 4 speed 327. I also see a code AS 3.70 standard rear, not posi, listed for a close ratio 4 speed (327) only. I'll bet this is really rare. Then a FA 3.70 posi for big blocks.

I never noticed that before but clear back to '59 they list a 3.70 non posi for a close ratio or performance application only.

My conclusion is that a 3.70 posi was available with any 4 speed (327) and a 3.70 non-posi was only available with the close ratio 4 speed. The only other non posi was a 3.36. Of course that doesn't mean it could not have been rebuilt and the posi unit removed or that a 3.70 ring and pinion was substituted for a different gear. Is there a code tag on one of the cover bolts? Is it a posi? Code tags are thrown away often by rebuilders.

Let us know what you find.
Tom

Hi, Jim - welcome aboard (I just signed in the other day myself)!

In '65, the only 327 engine you could get a 3.70 with was the L-79 (327/350), with the close-ratio 4-speed. The base (250hp) and L-75 (300hp) 4-speeds were all wide-ratio, and were available only with 3.08 and 3.36 axles. The L-79 350hp only came with the close-ratio 4-speed, with the 3.70 as standard, and 3.55 and 4.11 were optional (3.55 and 3.70 were available open or Posi, 4.11 was Posi only).

A dealer could request an override to the approved combinations, but it would have to be approved by the Zone Office.