Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Anyone want to tackle this?

adfac

Corvette
1986 Dark Red Convertible
Hi. I'm a newbie and have owned an 86 vert since October 07. I bought it from a guy who blew the engine by driving it after the oil pressure dropped to 0. I got a good deal and within a week had a mechanic drop a new L98 engine in it. The car runs just fine, except for the "service engine soon" light which comes on almost at startup. I've done everything I know how to do. I bought an FSM and a code scanner (AutoXray 2000) and learned to pull codes. My mechanic stays very busy and I'm not sure I have his attention as the last couple of times out there, he's tried to figure this out but with no luck. It's like he's given up on it. Anyway, he got a (Idle Air Control) code (I think it was a 15) on his scanner and said the IAC connector was bad. It was a little beat up, so I ordered a new one and he put it on this morning. Nothing changed. The Service Engine Soon light still comes on at startup and stays on until you shut the engine off. It is not an intermittent problem. My code scanner (the AutoXray) reads a 42 (Electronic Spark Timing Monitor Error), a 41 (Electronic Spark Timing Error), a 34 (MAF/MAP Sensor too low), a 32 (EGR Failure) and a 25 (MAT is too high). Yep, it throws 5 codes in one read! But the car is running fine! New engine, New ECM, MAF has been thoroughly cleaned and everything under the hood including the injectors is in good shape. I just don't know where to start. I don't have a test probe or voltmeter and don't know how to read them anyway so I was wondering if anyone has had a similar problem with the "service engine soon" light coming on while the engine runs fine. Thanks for any advice. :confused