Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Clutch, grinding noise when fully depressed.

luvlar

Corvette
1994 Black Rose
Greetings to all my fellow corvette enthusiasts,

This is a great forum and I've found answers here many times in the past. I've never posted anything before since I'm no mechanic, back yard or other wise. I only drive em, don't know what makes em' go. My question to all you with the know how and knowledge is this,

About two weeks ago I was having trouble shifting between gears. Really had to push or pull hard. Checked the trans fluid level at the reservoir on the fire wall and it was way low. Way, way low. Filled it with GM syncromesh and bought a new diaphragm since the old diaphragm was fully extended and I couldn't "squish" it back to flat. Filling the fluid fixed the problem and everything was fine. I've noticed a small leak when I squeeze under the car and look at the trans. Nothing serious. Several weeks passed and the fluid level hasn't dropped.

About two weeks later I'm now getting a grinding noise when the clutch is depressed fully to the floor. Doesn't do it at 1/2 or 3/4 pressed. I can shift gears just fine at the 1/2 or 3/4 mark but need the clutch just about fully depressed to start it. That's when I hear the grinding. It drives and shifts perfectly, smooth and tight, but put the pedal on the floor and it sounds like metal grinding. Kind of like worn brake pads sound. I'd appreciate any feedback you can give me. 1994 with 18000 original miles, Thanks!
Regards,
Frank

Ok, first off that reservoir on the firewall is NOT for transmission fluid. That is the master cylinder for the clutch it takes DOT3 Brake fluid ONLY. I suspect your slave cylinder is the leak, that is located in the bell housing next to the transmission on the drivers side. The grinding could be many things at this point. I suspect the slave cylinder being bad has something to do with it.