Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Engine Puzzle ??

F

Full_Blown

Hi Folks,

I'm a newbie here but I just got my first vette and I'm looking forward to my new hobbie car and making some new friends here in the process.

I got me a 1979 coupe from a kid who through a rod in the motor. The vehicle is in solid shape. It's had some major work done to it, ie. gas tank, front end, exhaust, brakes etc. Looks like possibly a replacement motor in it now. The motor's got a Holley 1850 carb on an Edelbrok Performer intake along with some Moroso dressings.

I'm trying to sort of a couple of motor issues and wondered if some folks can assist me before I having to strip things a part.

I picked up a rebuild for a good $$. The guy told me, he was told it was out of a 74 vette. I check some of the casting numbers and it looks like parts are from a 75 L82 vette from the best I can tell.
Here's what I've got:
Block: #3970010; 4 bolt - ID V1003CKC - ser#(?) 165407472
- Cast crank (from best I can tell).
-Inside piston from bottom end view #TQW
-Intake: 346249

Question: Is this an L82? What Cam would yould expect it to have based on the numbers?, What type of pistons would it have? (I was told forged)

The head #s are: 333882 - 1.94/1.50, 76cc, but there are P3965543 finned aluminium valve covers with it.

Question: The second (rod damaged motor) is #14016379 with #462624 heads. According to specs, these could be 2.02 valve heads. Is there anyway to check for sure (withut removing them).

Question: Out of all the bits annd pieces I've got here, I'd really like to know what I've got and what the best combination of parts might be for a good snappy motor.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Full_Blown,

P.S. Sorry for being so long winded.

Hi and welcome to the CAC from a fellow canajun.