Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Question: How Much Excess Oil Is Too Much...?

timfitz63

Corvette
'98 Aztec Gold Coupe; '04 Millennium Yellow 'Vert'
OK. This is probably going to come across as a bit anally-retentive; but I'm an engineer, so try not to hold it against me... ;)

Recently had the oil changed on my 'Vette. I supplied my trusted independent mechanic shop with all the oil and a filter, and just had them do the oil change while they were performing the annual Texas state inspection.

The quantity of oil with which I supplied them was somewhere between the recommended 6.5 quarts and 7 quarts (four 1-quart bottles; and approximately 2.75-3 quarts in a 5-quart jug that I had remaining from a previously oil change). In spite of my instructions to use only 6.5 quarts and return the remainder (0.25-0.5 quart) to me, they dumped all of it in... I was a bit miffed, although the dipstick seemed to show the level just at the top of the 'fill band' (which I realize is the real indicator of oil capacity -- although it's somewhat difficult to tell with new oil and the "slop" that seems to get dragged up the dipstick when you pull it out); and the oil pressure gauge indicated normally during the drive home. And I realize some of the oil gets 'soaked up' and contained inside the new oil filter; but that's not a particularly big oil filter on the C5...