Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Is Mobil 1 the best choice?

gonetobama13

Corvette
2004 Spiral Gray Metallic Coupe 6-speed
I've been using Mobil 1 oil & filters for my 2004 Vette (standard engine) from the beginning. I recently moved to Missouri, and my local GM service guy told me they use two types of oil for my car - Mobil and GTX, with the GTX being $30 cheaper for the oil/filter change (I forgot to ask about the filter options). Your advice? Thanks.
John K.

OOPS! I meant Castrol Edge, not GTX. My bad...........

Well, BEST choice is debatable...although I won't debate it. It is the choice of the manufacturer as they all came from the factory filled with Mobil 1. As long as the oil meets all the specifications it should be fine. Me, I'll stick with Mobil 1 and the AC/Delco filter. But then again I do my own oil changes.

Delco filters have been made by several vendors in the last few years. It's not like they are "Genuine GM" anymore. If you're stuck on Mobil 1, get their premium filter - they test out well. I use Pennzoil Platinum and a K&N filter. I like the built in installation/removal nut - no filter wrench to mess with. I think there are 4 synthetics besides Mobil 1 that meet the GM spec for oil. That reminds me - I have to change oil in the morning before it gets too hot out. :eyerole

I've been using Mobil 1 oil & filters for my 2004 Vette (standard engine) from the beginning. I recently moved to Missouri, and my local GM service guy told me they use two types of oil for my car - Mobil and GTX, with the GTX being $30 cheaper for the oil/filter change (I forgot to ask about the filter options). Your advice? Thanks.
John K.

OOPS! I meant Castrol Edge, not GTX. My bad...........

I don't believe that Castrol Edge meets GM4718M spec's that GM states C5's are supposed to use, make sure you know before you decide. I have found that Mobil 1 is the cheapest oil that meets GM spec's. :)