Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

New member question

Don61

Corvette
1981 coupe white w/red int auto
Hi everyone, I just recently joined & this is my first attempt at accessing information from this site. I own a 1981 Corvette, white w/red interior, L81-350 & auto trans. My question concerns the horns. First I cannot locate the actual horns. I've been told that they're above the frame under the driver's side fender but I cannot find them. Can anyone tell me how to get to them? The hron is shorted somewhwere as they just started blowing all by themselves while the car was sitting in the driveway. I had to pull the fuse to stop them. But the fuse also controls other things & I would like to just unplug the horns until I can find the short (most likely in the column). Any help would be appreciated.:)

the horns themselves are located to left and right
respectively of the headlights in the nose
of the vette.
you need to be a contortionist to get to them....Good Luck!!!!
There is a relay down near the fuse block.

Purchase the assembly instruction manual (AIM) for your 81. The AIM has diagrams of how the cars were put together on the assembly line, original part numbers, installation notes, options, etc.. Knowing how the car was assembled is often helpful when taking one apart. If you intend to do your own maintenance, you might want to consider purchasing the 81 GM chassis service manual.

Do you have an owner's manual for your 81? Lots of very valuable informaiton in the owner's manual.

Congrats.

:thumb

Last edited:
the horns themselves are located to left and right
respectively of the headlights in the nose
of the vette.
you need to be a contortionist to get to them....Good Luck!!!!
There is a relay down near the fuse block.

Thanks for the quick reply & info. I'll try to locate them. Now my passenger headlight won't go back down. Is there a common problem for these? I figured it's probably a vacum leak somewhere.
Thanks again,

Don