Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

New project for me...need input from C3'rs

97moneypit

I jumped into Corvette ownership very quickly in November with a '97 coupe. Since then I have been reading about and studying up on Corvettes. I look at every thing I can on the internet and have bought a few books so far and expect to be buying more. The bug has bitten me in a big way. Should have done this years ago.

I will be turning 50 this the same year as the Corvette and just today I have decided on a goal for the end of 2003. We all need goals and I thought this one might be something good to work on to keep ME out of the scrapheap.

So I have decided to look for a 1971 roadster that I might be able to afford by the end of 2003.

But of course I am a newbie to this and wanted to get some comments and/or advice from those of you experienced in these matters.

I don't even know what questions to ask yet, because this idea has just been in my head for about an hour so far.
Any thing anyone can offer would be very helpful.

Thanks...
:w

Just curious,why a 71? Any paticular reason? There were many engine option back in the early C3 days so you`l have to decide whether you want a big block or a small block.There were also heavey duty transmission and suspension options on some of them.
Good Luck!

BigBrakeFuelie said:
Just curious,why a 71? Any paticular reason? ...Good Luck!

I'm sure it's because 71 ragtops are so cool:D, but then I am a bit biased.

As for what to look for, click on the search link above and look in the C3 forums for RUST for starters. This will also reveal several existing threads where others have been given a laundry list of what to look for in a shark.

BigBrakeFuelie said:
Just curious,why a 71? Any paticular reason?

1971 was a landmark year in my life. Lots of nostagia associated with it. 1969 was also an important, memorable year for me.

I will just have to see how it pans out over the next year.

:w