Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Ouch ! I scraped a tree !! How bad is this ??

Allthumbs

Corvette
1981 white coupe
I accidentally scraped a tree at the end of the driveway..

How bad is this going to be to repair ?

Anyone have any thoughts or expereinces ?..

I am sick about this btw.. Ugh !

Apparently my pic is too large to post.. but it is the front driver side wheel well.. It is scraped.. and also cracked straight through on one spot and partially on the other spot.. not dented but cracked....but otherwise intact...:eek

Tom

Sorry to hear about your accident! We have a lot of '81 owners here and I'm sure they'll chime in with sympathies and suggestions.

In the meantime, if you'd like to try resizing your photos to post check out this thread: Click me

Good luck!
:wJane Ann

wheel well crack

Hi Allthumbs, its fairly easy to repair, ill give you a few ideas on how to do it but im not very good at putting it in print. first thing you do is take,a few photos of the crack and damage outside and inside. well. You purchase a fibre glass repair kit. these are available from either auto paint suppliers or marine suppliers, the kit contains small amount of resin and hardiner and tin of thinners for cleanup,approx only require small 200 or 300 mls, and a few small strips of dynal fibreglass cloth enough to cover by 2 to 3 inches over and around the crack small 1 inch paint brush, leave the top or outside, untill the end. first remove wheel, prep the inside around crack by sanding approx 60 to 80 wight paper, clean with thinners, cut cloth to approx 2 inches over around crack, mix resin hardner, paint the cloth on with brush use plenty to cover well, it will touch harden in approx 1 to 2 hours, leave approx 12 to 24 hours full cure, sand again untill roughly smooth, then you can brush more resin on or evan another layer of cloth if you want extra strong job. then the top surface is ready for the normal finishing in the normal way, sanding