Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Reflections on Carlisle and the 2005 C6 Corvette

Rob

Site Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Corvette
1990 Corvette ZR-1
Corvettes at Carlisle 2004 has come and gone, and once again, it was one of the best Corvette events I've ever been to. The weather was extremely hot and sticky, but well worth it.

I left early Friday morning, and drove up with Bob Radke, owner of the 1967 FSO Corvette that was featured in Corvette Fever, Vette, and the NCRS publications a few months ago, as well as one of James Garner's L88 Corvettes and a ZR-1. We spent the entire drive up chatting about Corvettes and ZR-1s which really made the trip fly by.

I was hoping to bring my ZR-1 with me, but decided not to at the last minute. The tires are begging to be replaced. I've been running BFG Comp TAs for the last 6+ years and there isn't much tread left on them. The driver's side front tire is also wearing abnormally fast on the outside indicating that there is a possible suspension problem. Rather than making the problem worse or possibly getting stuck, I decided to take my truck.

Where it really bothered me not to have the ZR-1 with me, was Route 94 that runs between Rt. 15 in Maryland, and Rt. 34 in Carlisle. When you first get on Rt. 94, it runs through a very tiny town and the posted speed limit is 35mph. It only takes a minute to run through the town, when all of a sudden, rolling hills of farmland appear, the road opens up, long and straight and the speed limit jumps up to 50mph. Because of the hills, the road is constantly disappearing in front of you as you come to their crests. With the ZR-1, I simply set the FX3 to "Perf" (firmest setting available), downshift, and literally enjoy one hell of a rollercoaster ride into Carlisle. With the truck, I had to be very careful because if you hit those crests fast enough, you can literally catch air, and your stomach suddenly gets very light.