Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Suction bleeder for clutch fluid?

Hi, I'm a rookie to C4's so take this as just 'food for thought' because I'm not experienced enough to talk intelligently about a C4's systems. I asked at my local chevy dealer's parts dept & they told me they don't stock the clutch fluid, GM P/N 12345347. I was told about a site to go check out, zfdoc.com. I would strongly suggest going there & doing some reading. Please don't take my response to be anything but a suggestion. I'm figuring that you have a ZF 6 spd in your car like I have in my 90 Z?

I would think that using a mity-vac to suck the fluid out of the clutch master cylinder reservior only, would work & maybe if repeated over a few days you would get out most of the fluid out of the system. I was thinking of doing the same thing. You know take about 9/10ths of the reservior's fluid & cycling the pedel & sucking out more fluid. I figured after a few days you would have to have removed most of the old fluid, right? Then I went to zfdoc & did some reading & I think the process they have there is better than what I was thinking. JMHO, Tom

tomtom72 said:
Hi, I'm a rookie to C4's so take this as just 'food for thought' because I'm not experienced enough to talk intelligently about a C4's systems. I asked at my local chevy dealer's parts dept & they told me they don't stock the clutch fluid, GM P/N 12345347. I was told about a site to go check out, zfdoc.com. I would strongly suggest going there & doing some reading. Please don't take my response to be anything but a suggestion. I'm figuring that you have a ZF 6 spd in your car like I have in my 90 Z?