Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

What's the Difference?

JAKE

Corvette
1996 388 LT1
I've been searching for a replacement Vette; mine burned up last month - engine fire.

I've found a few near to me and am wondering what are the differences between a 95 LT1 and a 96 LT1 other than merely the model year.

Thanks,

Jake

I've been searching for a replacement Vette; mine burned up last month - engine fire.

I've found a few near to me and am wondering what are the differences between a 95 LT1 and a 96 LT1 other than merely the model year.

Thanks,

Jake

I am not an expert by any means, but I think that the biggest difference is the change from OBDI (95) and OBDII (96) the interface is different for the systems.

Aside from the change noted by toms94 the biggest difference is that the 95 LT1 could be had with a 6 speed, the 96 only came with automatic. In 1996 you had to order the LT4 to get a 6 speed.

Pretty much that's it.

Sorry to hear about your loss, trust me I know what it's like.:ugh:mad:ohnoes My '90 mysteriously burned a few days after Katrina.

:w
:pat

Thanks guys, I appreciate the info.

So if the OBD is the primary difference, I suspect that the 96, with OBDII only needs to pass emissions testing by plugging into the PCM and doesn't require the tail-pipe test - at least here in TX.

If that's correct, then as long as my PCM doesn't throw a SES code, I can pretty much install an aftermarket cam and heads without a problem when it's tested.

That would leave the door open for AFR's new Eliminators and CompCams' XFI HR.

Jake

Yea, I've heard that's the case Jake.