Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

'81 CCC Performance and Timing

Sensei

Corvette
'81 dark blue
Okay, so Big Bird challenged me a while back about performance with the CCC system. I have done a fair amount of performance mods to my car. While it is not a race car (that was not my goal) it is pretty satisfying when you floor it. I am using the hypertech thermomaster chip. I have used a computer to verify that the carb keeps the mixture at the ideal ratio for efficiency for normal driving and at the ideal ratio for performance at WOT. So the CCC system is in no way a liability to performance as far as air/fuel mixture is concerned.
I am not a timing expert and I know there is an art to setting performance timing. On my old truck, I just set base timing and call it good. For the car, the only way to adjust timing is with the computer chip (and a little bit of play with base timing). The stock base timing is 6BTDC. I set mine at 10. With the performance chip, I assume the timing curve is good, but as I said, I am no timing expert. Here are the numbers I have for my advance at various rpms. I'm not going to try and analyze these. As Fox News says "We report, you decide". It would be interesting to compare this to a stock chip. I might put mine back in some time and see what the difference is (don't hold your breath).

Base (computer disconnected): 10 BTDC
Idle (800 rpms): 31 BTDC
1500 rpms: 38 BTDC
2000 rpms: 43 BTDC
2500 rpms: 45 BTDC
3000 rpms: 46 BTDC

God bless, Sensei

Chris,

One bit of knowledge I can share here is that when I asked Lars Grimsrud an opinion of what effect he thought would the setting of the initial timing above the specified 6 degreees he had this to say (the last line on his reply had to do about if he knew of anyone that could "burn" the chips on an L81):

"
Gerardo -