Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Blown head gasket on my 1988 L-98

dwsjr50

Corvette
1988 Charcoal Grey Coupe
I am positive the head gasket(s) are blown if that is the correct term to use.I have not seen any water on the driveway. Looking at the rpo codes it has aluminum heads. I added water/antifreeze to radiator again today about 1 1/2 quarts. Or the intake gaskets? Is there another test for troubleshooting this problem. This is my first Corvette and have owned it for two weeks. I am not a novice by any means but am stumped by this problem. There is a good chance I can do the work if it is not to serious.
Thanks
Donald

dwsjr50 said:
I am positive the head gasket(s) are blown if that is the correct term to use.I have not seen any water on the driveway. Looking at the rpo codes it has aluminum heads. I added water/antifreeze to radiator again today about 1 1/2 quarts. Or the intake gaskets? Is there another test for troubleshooting this problem. This is my first Corvette and have owned it for two weeks. I am not a novice by any means but am stumped by this problem. There is a good chance I can do the work if it is not to serious.
Thanks
Donald
Don't rule out heater core till you check it out!!:upthumbs

Are the fluids mixing? If you've added that much water, has the oil level gone up or have you seen a white exhaust?:W

Coolant loss

Just my 2 cents, Heater core ,check rug pass. side. Old timers trick was to smell exhuast, if it smells like A/F (sweet) thats where your coolant is going, out of the pipes. How does it run, idle, etc? Usually the O2 sensors get a glaze on them when blown gaskets occur causing drivability problems. Check oil for contamination. Muddywaters

Head gaskets