Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Hello! I am new here. I'm Designing a Targa Bar For The C3!

edavy

Hello,

I am a new designer working on designing a TARGA BAR for C3 here in New Jersey.
So far I have worked on a first generation of it.
It is still 'evolving"
Please let me know your thoughts on this.
I hope to have something in the next few weeks.
A prototype.
Thanks for your feedback!
corvette.targa.bar.jpg
So far this is what it will read like:

Our Targa Bar gives your C3 the look and feel of the Corvette sports car racing heritage that started it all.

NOTE: THIS IS NOT A ROLLBAR
Body mounted Targa Bar requires no body frame or component alteration or elimination
Fits only 68 – 82 Corvette Roadsters (C3)
Handcrafted of quality aluminum and powder coated to last a lifetime
Can be installed in 30 minutes or less. All hardware and detailed instructions are included
Our Targa Bar does not interfere with the convertible top, seating or rear deck.
Also available with optional 3rd brake light

I'm curious about what specfic race car look inspired you to shape the bar as you have.

I built road race cars back in the early C3 period and there never was a car with a rectangular "Targa Bar" on a race track. All the Corvette roadsters back then either had true roll bars or roll cages.

Best of Luck but I sure wouldn't put that on my Corvette.

A targa bar for the c3

I'm curious about what specfic race car look inspired you to shape the bar as you have.

I built road race cars back in the early C3 period and there never was a car with a rectangular "Targa Bar" on a race track. All the Corvette roadsters back then either had true roll bars or roll cages.

[FONT=Times New Roman,serif][FONT=Calibri,sans-serif]The actual inspiration was two-fold. Look and practicality.[/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Times New Roman,serif][FONT=Calibri,sans-serif]Look. See the Shelby GT 350 & 500 Roadsters from ’69 plus.[/FONT][/FONT]