Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Help needed! Noise coming from under car.

Jonnydext

Hi all,
I'm new to the form.
I just bought a 96ce lt4. It has very low miles 20k looks and drives great . But after a few hours a wierd knock noise started coming from the back of the engine, near the clutch and cat area.
I was able to get it on a friends lift and take a video it seem like it's the cat?
Any help is much appreciated as I just bought the car
c4 corvette knocking noise - YouTube

It's often tough to diagnose from video footage, but while it is possible the driver side cat has a problem, I kind of think that noise is coming from inside the engine.

You can get a much better fix on from where the noise is coming with a good mechanic's stethoscope like this one.

If that rattle is coming from the left-side cat, obviously, you have to replace the cat because the substrate inside it has fractured.

Last edited:
I had originally thought It was the engine ... but the sound doesn't change or increase with engine speed ,just vibrates more. It also goes away when I break hard or park on a steep nose down incline at idle. ( will come back if I rev)
it's gotten worse sense the video ... it really sounds like heat shield vibration... but all we're tight when I checked .. I've heard a problem cat can effect gas mileage.. I've been getting 9 mpg , but it's new and I've driving it like it should lol

If the noise doesn't change with engine speed, then, yeah...it's unlikely an engine mechanical issue.

Might as well, pull the exhaust and the cat on that side and inspect it.

Wayback in the day we would use a old broom handle,put 1 end on the part etc & the other end in the palm of your hand & ear,you'll be surprised how much you'll hear that way if ya dont have access to a stethoscope.