Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

LT4 Lt4 tire replacement

1996 LT4 Topic
D

Dean Barker

I am guessing that the 96 LT4 red coupe that I just bought has the original Goodyear GSC-EMT tires (32,000). They sure are noisy so I bought a spare tire setup and plan on replacing the tires with non run flats, either Firestone Firehawk SZ50 EP or Goodyear F1 GS-D3 tires. How about Good Year GSC non run flats. Opinions, please, is this the way to go. I'm just a average driver; plan to drive it all over the midwest.

I replaced my original GSC's with the GS D3's. There is a reduction in road noise as well as a higher level of adhesion. I've been happy with the D3's in all conditions but have only put about 1500 miles on them in the last 4 months.

The only trade off I've seen with the new tires is that the GSC's were a little sharper on initial turn in. The car responded like a go-cart. The new tires are not at all "mushy" feeling but just not as rigid in the sidewall. The ride is much better though.

I don't have any experience with the run-flats.

Jeff

Dean,
I just had new GY GSCs (non run-flats) put on all four corners of my LT4.

I drive my car daily through all types of weather conditions including snow. I think that the GSCs are nice for what they are, keep in mind the design of the GSC is over 10 years old now (introduced on the ‘92 Corvettes). Many new tires with superior qualities have come out. I can’t complain about the GSCs, they are fairly quiet on the highway and have offered up a smooth ride. I keep them at 30 psi and find around town driving comfortable too. As for mileage, I’ve gotten the same mileage out of them as you.

I have no complaints about their water shedding capabilities, only when your tread wears low does the front end feel squirrely on highway cloverleafs.

I thought about switching to other tires than the OEMs, but I want to keep my car stock, so that was another factor in my decision.

B17Crew
:w