Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

New to the Action Center Problem with 98

Mompantero

Corvette
1998 Black Coupe
I'm new to both the center and Corvettes in general. Hope someone can advise me on how to solve a persistent problem. I have a 98 coupe that is generally a really nice car with no major issues, HOWEVER I have one problem that's driving me nuts. I get a code B1537H on the DTC readout, "System switch 6 (reset) short to ground". No other IPC or PCM related codes although the system will occasionally throw a random code or 2. I can't use the reset button, it doesn't work. I figured switch short to ground / button doesn't work and the switch was not "stuck in" - simple, needs a new switch right. So I took out the IPC and replaced the DIC switch - no luck, still doesn't work in spite of a new switch and no obvious damage to the DIC switch harness. Here's what's going on:
1. I turn the ignition switch to ON and I can read the codes normally, but on the trip distance, trip time and other functions I can't reset anything. After a while, there's a beep and I can no longer get the DIC to do anything at all, it freezes on whatever the last message was up to the beep. After setting for while with the key off, it will sometimes work again and sometimes not. Eventually it will come back on and do the same routine.
2. When driving, I can use the FUEL, GAGES and other switches and the DIC seems to operate normally but will not reset. Other than not resetting, it seems to work normally until I get the beep and then it freezes.

I checked every fuse, checked the grounds involved, changed the switch and checked the switch harness and can't find any obvious issues. Since it doesn't affect performance I'm OK with using it as is but I'd really like the car to work as designed.

I'd appreciate any advice on how to fix this, thanks in advance!!!

Welcome to CAC!!!
Enjoy!!

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk