Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

Engine rebuild project

80VetteL82

Corvette
1980 L82 Black/Red
Hows it going guys? As the thread title says Im going to be doing an engine build for my 1980 vette. Im planning on pulling the motor mid-late fall once the good driving weather is gone, and I wanted to get a thread going to try to pick all of your brains! haha. I just wanted to get as much advice, tips, tricks etc... that I could.

Im 21 and this will be my first engine build. I worked as a mechanic full time for 3yrs before becoming a Paramedic. I was never certified, I learned as I went, so I know my way around a car, but Im no master tech. I will be doing this mainly by myself with some help from friends when I need it, and I have a great machine shop very close to my house that Ill be using.

Ive had my vette for 5yrs now and have done a lot of restoration including body/suspension and some rear drivetrain work, but as of yet I havent done much to the motor as the car ran well. The motor is getting older, and Im ready to start from scratch. Im not sure what is in there now, other than its a non-original 350 that was dressed up to look like the L82 that should have been in there. As for my plans, Im planning on doing a 383 somewhere around 450hp/tq. I have been reading a book by David Vizard on how to build a SBC, which has been helpful and also has recommendations for specific builds.

Im just concerned that once I get this started Im going to wind up finding more and more to do....like improving the cooling system, beefing up the drivetrain etc... For the kind of power Im looking to run how well do you think the stock cooling system perform? I was thinking I may have to go to electric fans. How much power do you think the stock driveline can take. I currently have a rebuilt TH350, which Ill probably end up replacing with either a 700R4 or a TKO600. I have a 2yr old rear end with 3.70s as well.