Welcome to the Corvette Forums at the Corvette Action Center!

HELP Replacing speedometer cable

shotzie988

Corvette
NONE LOST ALL
;help I have ordered a new transducer and cables for my 1981 I checked the cable to speedometer it works fine. How do I replace the transmission cable. I'm new to this all Can it be done by jacking up one side how can I find where the cable hooks up to tranny. you can send *a Private Message or reply in this thread. t also when taking the speedometer cable off the speedometer I pulled lose a Vacumm hose under my dash now my lights wont go down it's from the pull down switch where if you want you can run down the road with lights off but raised both are conected at the pull down switch

**Edited to remove email address at the request of shotzie988. - Jane Ann

Glenn,

Again - welcome to the Corvette Action Center! Hopefully you'll see replies to your post as the New Year celebrations slow down. ;)

You'll find we have a great group of people here and a wonderful sense of community among our members.

Please send me another PM if you need help again!
:wJane Ann

Glen, If your trany is a auto, the spedo cable is located on the side of trans. Drivers side just in front of the cross mount frame. For the headlight bypass. The hose with the blue stripe goes to the bottom port. (closest to the floorboard)

Thanks

I did find where the cable went to the tranny and I'm going to head off to the vette place on Wed to have them fix it my hands are just way to big size 17 ring. LOL . As for the lines I gave up on them I have them fix that also while I'm there to order complete carpet set and seat covers ans door panles also but thanks for your help
Glenn

HELP Update